Sunday, February 12, 2012

FHS Class of 1927

FHS Class of 1927 sign
1927 Sign Displayed at Museum
An item from 1927 has been added to the Pioneer Townsite Museum’s collection of historic items from the area’s past.
Workers who were tearing down Frederick’s old Central Elementary School found a painted  “Seniors 1927” sign where it had been stored behind the school’s stage. The structure was built in 1922 and served as Frederick High School until 1950.
The demolition contractor brought the placard to the Pioneer Townsite where it is currently on display in the museum’s main office.
The placard is painted on a single board, measuring approximately 44 inches by 10 inches. Its front is painted a cream color and “19 – SENIORS – 27” is painted in gold letters. It is in such perfect condition that on close inspection one can see pencil lines that the sign’s painter used to mark the letters.
Holes drilled in each corner of the sign were used for it to be hung or mounted.
According to an article in the May 20, 1927, Frederick Press, there were 56 members of Frederick High School’s Class of 1927.
Graduation ceremony for the class was held that evening, May 20, 1027, in the school’s auditorium. Valedictorian of the class was Louise Hemphill. Salutatorian was Polk Fry, Jr.
Members of the 1927 class were as follows:
Frances Baldwin, Bucy Boase, Paul Brunk, Thelma Burt, Mayzelle Caddell, Frank Cameron, Ida Cassidy, Hope Chatfield, Alice Crawford, Dudley Culp, Hulen Davis, Audra Edmonson, Florence Farrow, Polk Fry, Jr., Lester Gregg, Albert Hall, and Lois Rainer Hall.
Also, Irpha May Hawkins, Earl Hazel, Louise Hemphill, Loretta Henderson, Fred Hinshaw, Gladys Hodgson, Vada Holloway, Howard Hope, Margaret Hornecker, Marie Huffman, Hazel Hurst, Dorothy Jordan, Jack Kadane, Maud Kent, Frederick Krause, Frank Lewis, and Lucile Longacre.
Also, Franklin Mannan, Reva Mitchell, Louise Moore, Mabel Moore, Nell Mullins, Ila Pearson, Lewis Pope, Clara Rector, Herbert Redeker, Leon Richards, Powell Robinson, Farrell Robinson, Daisy Salter.
Also,  Anna Scheller, Lura Shaw, Pauline Shouse, Edith Simmons, Nick Vaughn, Wallie Vite, Frederick Wessel, Lola Blanche Winters, and Elizabeth Witherspoon.

       Thanks to Mark Hazel for locating the 1927 list of graduates in the May 20,1927 Frederick Press.
       Joe Wynn is a member of the Tillman County Historical Society’s board of directors.

No comments:

Post a Comment